Hitler’s Willing Executioners.

… So, Fabian asked me if I can write in English or if he must learn Italian to read my blog. I told him another friend I met in Kiel used to google-translate this blog. Once I tried and read the English translation and wondered how that friend could understand it. I could say my prose is too convoluted to be translated into English – whether by google-translate or by myself. I could say I’m too convoluted to be “translated” into English, but some would reply I’m just too lazy, and they’d probably be right. I could also say I haven’t been seriously writing nor speaking in English for two years, and that therefore my English is fucked up. I could just shut up.

I read Hitler’s Willing Executioners and wrote some notes on the book itself:
– Goldhagen reifies “the German” and then criticizes them for reifying “the Jew”. How coherent. Paradox.
– In his work, all Germans are considered guilty until proven innocent. Namely: Goldhagen takes it for granted that (quite) all Germans were virulent anti-semitists willing to kill the Jew. No substantial proof given.
– Goldhagen’s interpretation is often arbitrary. He fills up historical “gaps” with preconceptions. Bias.
– He’s paranoid.
– Goldhagen cannot conceive any middle course between “antisemitism” and “philosemitism”.

… But then I read the Wikipedia article about this book and found out my criticisms are trivial. That’s comforting, of course, but I was disappointed: I had to force myself to read this book, that I filled up with notes – mostly insults – throughout while reading it, so why didn’t I just read that article?

I’m studying Vichy France. I will study Italian Fascism and finally read the history of German literature by Mittner, 1890-1970 (1000 pages).
I’m taking notes about the novel I’m going to write, which has no title, and whose characters have no name. It’s like I were structuring a white paper without filling it up with data.

6 comments

  1. ” I will study Italian Fascism and finally read the history of German literature by Mittner, 1890-1970 (1000 pages). ”
    That would be a good excuse for us to meet when you’ll be back from Civitavecchia.
    I still keep all the books you picked from my father’s library, I’ll be glad to give them to you as soon as we can meet.
    Love

    F.C.

    1. I thought you trashed them, Amu. Thanks.
      And I need no excuse to meet you. If I weren’t here, I would have invited you at my place for a couple of days. I’ll do that this summer – so that you’ll have an occasion to say you hate me.

      1. I would NEVER trash a book; plus, they’re your books now, so I just keep them safe for the next time we meet.
        I’ll probably will say I hate you just because now you live in a fuckin’ mountain place and my fuckin’ car is fuckin’ crashed.

        We have lots of things to talk about.

        1. I’m in the Tuscia now: no mountains, just cows, cowpeople, lots or restaurant and it’s fucking hot.

          You’ll love my new shower, btw. Everyone loves it.

  2. Well, it was Google Translate plus some guessing, done by looking at the italian original and trying to understand at least a little bit. It nver really worked, but it worked well enough – back then I was trained by reading chinese rumor sites on mobile computing hardware through Google Translate, which, to be honest, was a lot more horrible.
    P.

Rispondi

