Landsknechte und Zecken.

My bed is black, with white spirals.
My little dog has fleas again – that means my bed had fleas in it, joyfully springing on my pillow.
My little dog likes black-and-white duvet. She’s lying on my pillow again, with her fleas.
(I hope she’ll never have ticks. I’ve never had a tick, but an arachnid that wants my blood is not exactly the kind of pet I’d like to have.)

Altieri wrote me an e-mail. He gave me his phone number. It’s time to have a coffee somewhere, I’m not able to summarize the plot of my wannabe romance (that hasn’t still a title; I call it A.D.1630, but it should be called The Wandering Jew) by e-mail, it’s too complicated. There are two plots within the frame plot, and a flashback plot. There are the Thirty Years’ War with its battles and Venice with its sub-plots, France and the fucking Wandering Jew. I need Altieri because of the Landsknechte, a captain and his mercenaries. He’d already written about this stuff – know-how of gunpowder, how did a camp burst? Is my captain a captain or a… lieutenant? General? What-the-fuck? (I hate hierarchies, every era and every country grades degrees by different criteria.) I need suggestions. I need someone who hears the entire story, someone who faced the same historical context and knows how to “use” it.
Having a coffee with him it’ll be a pleasure. I like him, I liked him instinctively. Gut reaction. It’s the way he shrugs his shoulders.
After all, I’m a monkey.

Discipline and Punish: I want it.
It is an examination of the social and theoretical mechanisms behind the massive changes that occurred in western penal systems during the modern age. […] Foucault challenges the commonly accepted idea that the prison became the consistent form of punishment due to humanitarian concerns of reformists, although he does not deny those. He does so by meticulously tracing out the shifts in culture that led to the prison’s dominance, focusing on the body and questions of power. Prison is a form used by the “disciplines”, a new technological power, which can also be found, according to Foucault, in schools, hospitals, military barracks, etc. The main ideas of Discipline and Punish can be grouped according to its four parts: torture, punishment, discipline and prison.
I need it. A step I can’t avoid.

I found an old incomplete novel (Horton&Kendall) while I was making a back-up. I haven’t finished it yet, but in the meanwhile I made the cover.

2 comments

  1. Notes

    A future novel of your Horton&Kendall serial is good news, the progress of your gigantic AD1630 romance is far better. I will look forward for both. By the way, is it any information about plots, sub plots and whatever-plots available? You know, I’m getting curious in my old age.

    1. Re: Notes

      This H&K novel is full of cliches. Short and enjoyable, but nothing special.

      I wrote several A.D.1630 “stuff”. But they’re just drafts, attempts. The whole plot is in my mind and in history books. If you want I can send you something, but they haven’t much sense.

Rispondi

